First base umpire Jeff Nelson blew a call in unbelievable fashion on Friday night in Seattle. In the bottom of the second inning, Mariners catcher Jesus Sucre hit a grounder to first baseman Mitch Moreland. Moreland threw to Elvis Andrus at second for one, and Andrus fumbled with the ball before throwing it back to first for the apparent double play.
Only that's not what really happened at all. Moreland's foot wasn't on the bag when he supposedly caught the ball from Andrus, so Sucre should have been safe to begin with. Also, there's the tiny little detail of Moreland not even actually catching the ball! That's right, pitcher Justin Grimm actually ended up making the catch on Andrus' throw, and he was nowhere near the bag.
That didn't stop Nelson from calling Sucre out on what went down in the scorebooks as a 3-6-1 double play. The worst part for the Mariners is that Brendan Ryan followed Sucre's at bat wtih an RBI double, which could have been a two-run double had Sucre not been called out. Texas won the game 9-5, but things could have played out much differently had Sucre not been incorrectly called out in the second inning.
|Like TOC on Facebook||Follow TOC on Twitter|
First, Grimm is an idiot for getting into Moreland's way, then he is an ass when he realizes what he did and instead of throwing it to third like he wanted to, he gets Moreland to walk back to the mound with him so they can fool the umpire. Absolutely no morals. This isn't the same as a normal bad call when you don't say anything. He intentionally went out of his way to fool the umpire. You can't really blame the ump as all three radio calls said he was out on initial viewing. Most took at least three views to figure out what happened.